New to armorsmithing, powerbits and sockets.

Ask & answer questions, submit ideas or post guides on the Armorsmith Expertise.

Moderators: Crafting Forum Moderators, Forum Moderator

Swedishoyster
Intermediate Crafter

New to armorsmithing, powerbits and sockets.

Post by Swedishoyster » Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:37 am

Hello, I'm fairly new to armorsmithing and I read the stickies on the forums etc, but this problem is annoying me, I do have a theory what's wroing but I need confirmation and hard numbers plz.

Problem: When I make a armor chest plate and put in a (exotic) powerbit (for example +armor assembly) I don't get a socket. I do have an ent buff, and if I put in a non exotic (constitution for example) I get a socket.

My theory, need verification: Since I'm new to AS I don't have a AS suit (that's what I'm trying to make here) Do I need to have a certain amount of +Armor Assembly to be able to make both an exotic power bit while crating AND a socket? What amount, some in my guild thought 160 but wasnt sure.

So what I need to know is the hard facts here, do I need more +Armor assembly (or something else) and what value do I need to be 100% certain of succes (+35 bits arent cheap you know).

I have a +15 carfting tool, +44.999 station and inside a city with crafter's bonus. My current +Armor assembly (with ent buff) is 132.
Sork Inc. Perdition, Dantooine
Hunterella, Architect/Armorsmith - Sorkella, Ranger/Riflewoman
Snufsan, Tailor/Chef/x - Healerella, Doctor
Bimborella, Swordswoman/Medic - Sniperella, Rifle/BE

Zimoon
Forum Moderator

Re: New to armorsmithing, powerbits and sockets.

Post by Zimoon » Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:55 am

Yes, you need AS Assembly 160+ to be "warranted" a socket, it is all about the assembly, not Luck.

I just updated Reverse Engineering 101 with that info, previously it just read that assembly is the important modifier.

/Zimoon

Swedishoyster
Intermediate Crafter

Post by Swedishoyster » Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:16 am